Week 1

I like to think that I grew up in the midst of the technological revolution within the classroom. Especially in terms of the Internet, I feel that technology has been a part of my classroom experience all through high school and college.  Then I take a look at the children I babysit…. and realize how much more of an impact technology has had on their lives so far. The two year old little girl is able to easily work an iphone and ipad and navigate her way to her favorite game or TV show on Netflix and explains to me that the show is loading and we have to wait a minute or two to watch it. In every aspect from social networking to communication, the Internet is impacting our lives more than ever, and at a younger age than ever. It is crucial that we keep up and learn how to use these new resources to make the most positive impact in the classroom that we can.

The NETS standards are a list of objects as to what students should expect from technology in the classroom and what teachers should know about technology in order to “gain optimal benefit within education” (Don Knezek).  The student standards and teacher standards go hand in hand in terms of what is expected of them.  They focuses on the areas such as using technology to inspire creativity and communication, collaboration and research, understanding and critical thinking as well as using it to create and take part of new experiences.

 

NETS-T

  1. Facilitate and inspire student learning and creativity.
  2. Design and develop digital age learning experiences and assessments
  3. Model digital age work and learning
  4. Promote and model digital citizenship and responsibility
  5. Engage in professional leadership

 

NETS-S

  1. Creativity and innovation
  2. Communication and collaboration
  3. Research and information fluency
  4. Critical thinking, problem solving and decision making
  5. Digital citizenship
  6. Technology operations and concepts

Howard Rheingold had a very memorable quote when talking about the Internet and its impact on society, “The internet made it possible for everyone to have their ‘printing press’ and be able to broadcast their views and opinions”. Now instead of having the few elite people controlling what is said and publicized, we now have a way for each and every person to have a platform to share their opinions.

NETS encourages both students and teachers to use the internet in order to expand their knowledge. It encourages teachers to use different sources to broaden the horizons’ of their students and implement new and exciting ways of teaching and learning. As well as encouraging creativity in both learning and presenting new information it also calls for digital citizenship from both the student and the teachers.

Communication and collaboration levels are at an all time high due to advances in technology. NETS gives students and teachers a set of standards to go by while using the internet for both learning and presenting information. Smart phones, Skype, email, social networks, etc., allow for us to communicate ideas and collaborate with one another at any time and anywhere. As society advances technologically, it is important for our education to keep up as well.

3 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. Ashley, I thought your opening paragraph was very relatable. The internet and technology are shaping the way we learn and think even from birth it seems. I also thought you did a good job of summarizing the NET standards and purposes.

  2. I definitely related to your first paragraph as well. I always felt pretty technologically advanced growing up until I saw what some of my younger cousins, and my nieces and nephews could do at such young ages! I was shocked at the age of 10 when my 3 year old cousin could do more on on a computer than I could, and then again when I started seeing children trying to swipe the pages of a magazine because they were used to a touch screen tablet device. It makes me wonder if and when paper in all forms will be obsolete.

  3. Ashley, I agree and think that I grew up in the technology revolution. I now go back to my high school and look at the things they have now compared to what we had in the past and see the difference in what is used today. I left a comment earlier and said that technology and bypass you so fast when your not hands on with it. I also thought you did a good job of summarizing.

Leave a Reply

